Now that I’ve come out about my listening to the audio book of Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows, there’s no use hiding my continuing addiction to listening to audio books at work. I’ve decided to take this route for finally getting through The Silmarillion. And wow, Martin Shaw is perfect for reading it. Anybody who read The Silmarillion and desires to go back to it again should really consider listening to the Martin Shaw audio book. Not having to stumble over how Tolkien intended these hundreds of proper nouns to be pronounced is wonderful, and really lets you focus on and enjoy the story itself.

Audiobook still feels like shameful word to me, I have to admit. I’ll gladly discuss the great benefits (and the few, but present disadvantages) any time, but I can’t help but feel like I’m cheating some times. Nevertheless, it’s allowing me to “read” more stories, which makes me very happy.