I’m not a big gamer. I like playing video games, but I don’t have an expensive, high-tech gaming “rig”. I don’t buy the latest and greatest titles. I don’t connect to other gamers on-line for virtual death matches. Every now and then I’ll play a newer game. I try to hit bigger games, especially sequels to earlier games I’ve already played. Basically I’m a sucker for the big buzz that accompanies a game that the majority of gamers are in love with and all talking about. I can’t resist it.

I’m also a sucker for fictional worlds set in underwater dystopias.

Knowing that, it should come as no surprise that I’m kind of excited about BioShock; a WindowsPC/Xbox360 game released today that has not only been receiving (arguably undeserved) perfect 10’s from a number of gaming magazines, but is also set in an underwater dystopia! There’s a free PC demo available, and I’m anxious to download (1.8GB!) it tonight. I’m kind of hoping that I don’t thoroughly enjoy the opening cinematic and 45 minutes of game play it’ll offer, because even if I could afford to buy the full version for $50, there are certainly better ways I could be spending my free time.