I went to my first book discussion group meeting last night (what a great time; I wish I had known about it sooner). While poking around the group’s parent organization’s website, I’ve inadvertently stumbled upon the excellent blogs of two of the group’s members. One such blog had the following book meme:

  • Grab the nearest book.
  • Open the book to page 56.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post the text of the sentence in your journal along with these instructions.
  • Don’t dig for your favorite book, the cool book, or the intellectual one: pick the CLOSEST
My nearest book doesn’t have a page 56.  John Hodgman’s MORE INFORMATION THAN YOU REQUIRE starts at page 237, where the last book left off.  Looking at page 292 however…

“It took Taylor five days and an intense amount of concentration to convince his spiteful body to die of delicious, wholesome things.”

