Lots of crazy stuff has been going on here in Cedar Rapids. The Cedar River is flooding, and the city has had to enact its 500-year flood plan. Power is out over many parts of the city (our house was out for a few hours this morning) and power downtown where I work has been out since 7am CST (we’re running on generators here at work, and as a telecommunications company we have an independent internet connection).

My house is not in the expected flood plain, and now that power’s back on I really have little to complain about. But hundreds of people have been evacuated from their homes, and dozens of businesses are going to have a lot of cleanup to do once these waters recede some day, all just in our town. Much more damage has occurred in other Iowa cities along the Cedar River.

Unfortunately, heavy rains here and further up the river mean water levels are continuing to rise. Here’s a bad camera-phone picture from out my office window on the 6th floor. I’ve marked how far the flooding has reached from the river in case you can’t make it out on the pic. It wasn’t nearly that high when I arrived less than 3 hours ago.

