There are often times where I want to call a business from the road (ie. I don’t have easy access to a computer) and certainly don’t want to pay anything for that ability. My cell phone company, Sprint, charges over a dollar every time you dial plain-old 411 on one of their cell-phones, so I’ve been a big fan of 1-800-Free-411 for a few years now (they also have a website). You listen to a 12 second advertisement and then get your number. Their listings aren’t always the best, but it usually connects you to the business you want.

Google recently launched their own free 411 service called Google Voice Local Search, but I didn’t hear about it until today. I’ve found it to be faster than 1-800-Free-411, and a lot more helpful. And so far, Google isn’t making users listen to any ads either.

You can listen to a call that Download Squad’s Brad Linder made and recorded here, or just dial 1-800-GOOG-411 (1-800-466-4411) from your phone and see for yourself.

